jump to navigation

Kind of a Drag September 5, 2009

Posted by Dindy in Personal, Products.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I need more closet space. Who doesn’t? I mean, is there anyone on this earth who actually has enough space to store all the crap that they have accumulated over their lives? However, my problem has more to do with the fact that I let my daughter have the master bedroom when she moved back home a few years ago so I had to take my belongings out of my huge, walk-in closet and put them in various nooks and crannies of the house. Some of my clothes are in the entry hall closet, some of them are in the closet in my office,  some of them are hanging on a rod over my office door and the bedroom door, some of them are piled on my chest of drawers and some are hanging on a pants rack in the hallway.

It is this last group that is giving me a problem right now– not the clothes but the pants rack. Because I don’t have enough room in my closet to hang up all of my dress slacks or skirts, I bought one of those rolling pants racks. I put all of my slacks and skirts on it and stuck it in the hall, but there’s a problem. The rack is not high enough off the ground so my slacks and skirts drag on the floor.

Now I am not a particularly tall person. In fact some people, such as my husband and my daughters, call me short. Consequently, my slacks are not overly long, which makes me wonder, if my slacks drag on the ground when on this rack, what would the slacks of a tall person do if hung on this rack? (Did that sentence make any sense? It did to me so I’m leaving it in.)

Now here I am with a product that was designed specifically to keep slacks OFF the ground, yet it is not tall enough to keep slacks from dragging on the floor. So I have to ask how this happened. Are the designers of this product all shorter than me? (I kind of doubt that. While I don’t consider myself to be short, most other people do.) Did they test this product on actual pairs of pants? Did they maybe bring in their children’s slacks instead of their own pairs of slacks to use when testing this pants rack? Why didn’t someone notice somewhere that the pants rack was not tall enough to keep the pants from dragging on the floor? Why make a product that isn’t designed to do what it is supposed to do?

It’s a small thing, I know. With all the problems the world has, I’m moaning and groaning because my slacks drag on the floor. However, I moan and groan about the other things too. This just happens to be what I am moaning and groaning about now.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

