jump to navigation

Domestic Militias Fear the WRONG Administration November 27, 2009

Posted by Dindy in Current Events, Right wing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The domestic militia whackos are rising again. After nearly a decade in which we didn’t hear much about them, now that a Democrat is in president again, they are resurging. The Southern Poverty Law Center has identified at least 50 new right wing militia groups that have been formed in the last two years.

Norm Olson of the Alaska Citizens Militia explains his rationale for Americans arming themselves against the government.

“The federal government can roll into your driveway in the middle of the night and snatch you up and take you away, and you’ll never be seen again.” ~ Associated Press

The last time we saw such activity in the militia groups, another Democrat was president– Bill Clinton. These groups clearly tie democratic presidencies with their fears about government excesses.

So let’s look at this a little bit. I can certainly agree with Mr. Olson that the government should not be able to snatch citizens up in the middle of the night and take them away. I can also agree that our civil liberties are very important. I think I should be able to talk to whomever I want to on the phone without worrying about the government listening in on my private conversations. I also think that I should be able to check whatever books I want to out of the library without the government knowing or caring WHAT I am reading. I think that I should be able to meet with other people without having to worry about whether I am sitting next to a government spy at my rubber chicken dinner. And if I am arrested, I should not be held in prison for years without even knowing what the charges are against me. I think that the government should not be able to go snooping in my bank records, and I certainly don’t want my ISP reporting my internet habits to the Department of Homeland Security.

What’s more, I’m willing to bet that Mr. Olson doesn’t want any of these things either. Yet, it was a Republican Administration, that of George Dubya Bush, that put all these things in place– not only can the government go snooping into your library records, your internet habits and your phone calls, but it no longer even needs a warrant to do so. This was all part of Dubya’s war on terrorism, you know.

Now you would think that, being concerned about the government sneaking around and snooping into their personal business and all, that these right wing militia groups would have been busting out of the woodwork when Dubya was president. But they waited till AFTER he got out of office to start stockpiling their guns and playing soldiers in the backwoods.

Maybe these guys are smarter than I thought. Guess they figured that if they’d gotten themselves together when Dubya was in office, they really WOULD have stood a good chance of being carted away in the middle of the night and never seen again. Now that we have an administration that has SOME modicum of understanding of civil liberties, Mr. Olson can go play soldiers in the backwoods without much real threat of the government coming in and spiriting them away.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

